Contribution

2 Apr

WIFE:  Can you turn that off?  I think I want to go to bed.

ME: You don’t want to watch the end of this?  I think it’s almost over.

WIFE:  I can’t keep my eyes open.  Just pause it, we’ll finish it tomorrow.

ME:  Well, I mean, I think there’s only… okay.  Sure.

WIFE:  C’mon, I’m tired.  I can’t make it.

ME:  I know, I know.  It’s fine.  No problem.

WIFE:  No, what I need you to say is, “oh, honey, of course you should go to bed.  You should get as much rest as you can.  You’re working so hard carrying our three precious little ones around.  They need so much right now and you’re doing all this by yourself.  Whatever I can do, darling.”

ME:  What do you mean “all by yourself”?  I contributed something.

WIFE:  Yeah, but I’m doing this all day, every day for months and months.  Your contribution was, what, five minutes.

ME: …

WIFE: …

ME: Ouch.

WIFE: Ten minutes at the most.

10 Responses to “Contribution”

  1. Barb April 2, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    I found your blog on M&M. I saw on a previous post that you’re from LB. We’re in Torrance and delivered our triplets at LB Memorial. Overall it was a great experience, and they have an excellent NICU (but hopefully you won’t need to find out). I look forward to following your triplet journey. Congratulations!

    • Jeremy April 4, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      Hi, Barb! Really, Torrance? Thanks for letting us know, we’ve heard a lot of great things about Memorial. We’re definitely going there.

      Thanks for dropping us a note. Congratulations to you too.

  2. Maggie April 2, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    I just finished reading that to my Aussie friend – your humor is gold in Australia!

  3. Jennifer April 3, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    LOL

  4. Ami Bunch April 3, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Hello! Your blog is crackin me up! I absolutely loved the post about the gender percentages! I myself am a mother of 2 year old BGB triplets. It is the most AMAZING thing ever! You guys are in for a world of fun! I can’t wait to see what you end up with! I’m guessing BBG. 🙂

    • Chrissy April 4, 2011 at 8:54 am #

      Hahahahahaha…..okay, My husband and I had almost this exact conversation before we had our twins…glad to know someone else is laughing too!

      • Jeremy April 4, 2011 at 11:36 am #

        Yeah, my wife insists I misrepresent our conversations. I told her “well, then, start your own blog.” Turns out she did. Ulp.

    • Jeremy April 4, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      Thanks, Ami. I hope you’re right. Congratulations on your BGB brood!

  5. Jeremy April 4, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Yeah, well. Apparently, I wasn’t bringing my A Game that particular day. A wife remembers.

  6. Randy Bear April 4, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Trust me, son… your contribution was/is great. Its your job to be all nervous about providing and leading etc. Still trying to figure out how that 12 year old trip is gonna work though.

Leave a Reply

