A Better World

1 May

Carey has wanted to have a child for several years and I’ll admit openly here that I was the holdout. I had grand ideas about the ethics of bringing children into this world, contributing to the imbalance of wealth and resources. Maybe I’ll get into more of that in a later post, but suffice it to say, I felt burdened about whether or not having children of our own was the “right” thing to do.

And, of course, I had serious doubts about my own parenting abilities.  I’ve already talked about that a good bit and I’m sure there’ll be loads of posts to come on the topic.

But the third big reason for hesitating was pretty straightforward and, let’s face it, as common as crabgrass: I looked at the world around me and thought, “do I really want to throw an innocent child into this mess?”

Less than an hour ago, I read the news and listened to our President give an address: Osama Bin Laden is dead.

Does it mean a better world, a safer world?  I don’t know.  Probably not.  It’s not the sort of thing I understand as well as I should, so it would be silly for me to offer too many opinions on it.  As a rule, I avoid most political discussions because, while my feelings on political matters are fairly strong, I usually regret spouting off about them.

But I will say this: Saddam Hussein and Osama Bin Laden are dead.  And that makes me feel a little better about bringing our three boys into this world.

I’m proud of my country and I’m happy and grateful to be an American citizen.  I know it’s not hip to say something like that and there’s nothing more out-of-style than patriotism in these troubled times, but I can’t help it.  I do love the United States and, at this moment, I’m proud of our military for employing the skill, courage and intelligence to do what they did today.  One day I’ll tell my sons what happened when they were still in their mommy’s tummy and how fortunate they are to be defended by such brave men and women.

And to those in power, particularly those responsible for today: thank you.  On behalf of my family, it means an awful lot that you take our safety so seriously, that you would pursue so doggedly those who want to put an end to us.  There’s a lot we agree on and a lot we don’t, but today I appreciate your wisdom.

God bless.

6 Responses to “A Better World”

  1. Michael Geisen May 1, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    Well said, Jeremy. Feeling good about America and the world right along with you.

  2. Erin May 2, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    Loved the post. Today is a good day. Today I can say what I haven’t always felt in the past several years–that I’m proud to be an American. God bless our troops.

  3. Randy Bear May 2, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Your parenting abilities are gonna be great. I’ve known that about you since you were a kid, and now I’m going to get to see it happen. Definitely excited.

    Yes, the world is a much safer and better place than before without OBL. The war on terror will continue no doubt, but the other side is surely weakened, and that is a good thing. And it is hip, IMO, to say that you’re proud and grateful to be an American. There are no alternatives anywhere that compare.

    And in terms of your children contributing to the imbalance of wealth and resources… your children will grow into responsible adults without any doubt, and will produce wealth and create/discover resources that will benefit the rest of the world.

  4. Gary May 2, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    Jer,

    Well said. I will enjoy reading your blog and am thrilled for you and Carey! Move to Delaware, Ohio! =)

    Regardless of the media and cultural bias found in Southern California, patriotism is alive and well in the “other 49.”

    Sincerely,
    Wailer

  5. Bob W. May 3, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    Great post Jeremy. Very well put. It’s never un-cool to take pride in a country that allows you the freedom to be proud or not.

  6. Jenny Lovette May 4, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    Great post! Thanks for saying that…and I concur 100%

Leave a Reply

