Kick

21 May

The wife woke me up this morning by grabbing my hand and putting it on her belly.

“Feel.”

I was coming out of a fairly complicated dream involving time machines and Halloween parades, but after a few seconds I felt it: kick.

I woke up properly.  She asked, “did you feel that?”

I didn’t move, waiting for another one.  And it came, full force:

KICK.

“Holy cow, that was huge,” I said.  Not only was it feel-able, it was strong.  Purposeful.  Somebody’s in there.

The last several weeks, I’ve been waiting and feeling with no luck.  I’d detect little murmurs here and there, but I was never quite sure if I was feeling a baby or a heartbeat, maybe Carey’s stomach growling.  I’d tried to coax them now and then (“Gnomes, this is your father.  Let me know you’re in there, please.”), but this was the real thing.

I took my hand away and looked at her belly.  After a few seconds, a tiny bulge popped up-down where my hand had been.  Another kick.  And this time I was seeing it.

I’m not sure if it was B or C, but someone near the top wanted to let me know they’re there.

8 Responses to “Kick”

  1. Randy Bear May 21, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    That’s your boy in there, Jer. The apple of your eye no doubt. Just wanted his pop to know he’s in there. Love it!

  2. modvegan May 21, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    I am so happy you finally felt them! Or, at least One. 🙂 It was a special moment for me too.

  3. Christy Bowersox May 21, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    That is so awesome! Pretty much the coolest part of pregnancy. Just thinking about it is almost enough to make me have another one. Almost. . .

  4. Steph May 21, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Wait–is that a stock photo or ACTUALLY CAREY?? That is a CRAZY photo. Either way, this is exciting news!!

  5. Steph May 21, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    sorry–just realized that is a stupid question because that foot is way too big for one of yours (like, that kid in there is 4 or 5). Congrats on making your first contact though!

    • Jeremy May 21, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      Thanks! It occurred to me to mention that it’s a stock photo, but I neglected to do it. Whoops.

  6. Erin May 21, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    It’s an awesome experience isn’t it? Just wait until you can actually feel little body parts and be able to tell if your feeling a head, foot, or little tushie. Have fun!

    • Jeremy May 21, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      Three heads, twelve limbs, six hands, feet, elbows, knees and butt cheeks. Thirty fingers and thirty toes. Sixty digits. We’re going to have a difficult time distinguishing, I think.

Leave a comment